UAU Championships 1936

1936 was the 11th year of the UAU swimming championship. Although The Times reports the London were the winners, they also report that Manchester had won the championship 5 times in the first 10 years of the championship! (The Times, Monday, May 11, 1936; pg. 6; Issue 47371; col F)

London University, the holders, retained with Universities Athletic Union swimming title by one point from Manchester, five times previous winners, in the 11th annual championships, which were held at Birmingham on Saturday. London scored 44 points to Manchester's 43, Glasgow being third with 35 points.
In the Squadron Race (5 x 66 2/3 yards) London's time of 3min. 11 4-5sec. set up a record, the previous best being the 3min, 16sec, returned by London in 1933. Sheffield, with a time of 3min. 25sec., also broke a record in the Medley Relay. Only one individual holder defended his title, this being N. Pooler (London) who finished second to J. Clow (Manchester) in the 220 yards Free Style race.
Winning the 100 yards Back Stroke, E. D. Taylor (Loughborough) beat M. R. Chassells (Glasgow), the Scottish back stroke champion, and his time of 1min. 7 2-5sec. was only 1-5 of a second outside the Universities' record.